Standalone ATMega328p

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Locked
danBuonocore
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2014 2:59 pm

Standalone ATMega328p

Post by danBuonocore »

I bought a couple ATMega chips that have the Arduino bootloader already burned. I hooked it up to a breadboard following this diagram:
http://www.gammon.com.au/forum/?id=11637

I programmed the chip while on the board, then removed it and placed it on the breadboard. But it appears that I have no clock. The ouptut pins that I set as high or low in the setup() work, but the code that I have in the loop() doesn't execute. I'm under the impression that you can run the ATMega while using it's internal clock at 8MHz so I don't have an external crystal. My guess is that the bootloader is for 16MHz and cannot run with the internal 8Mhz clock. If this is true, is there a way to reburn a new bootloader? Or is there something else wrong?

Thanks!

User avatar
Franklin97355
 
Posts: 23938
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:33 pm

Re: Standalone ATMega328p

Post by Franklin97355 »

Here is an article on running a 328 on a breadboard http://arduino.cc/en/Main/Standalone You are right in that if you run the bootloader you need a clock for the chip.

danBuonocore
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2014 2:59 pm

Re: Standalone ATMega328p

Post by danBuonocore »

Is there a way to remove the bootloader so that I don't need the external clock?

User avatar
Franklin97355
 
Posts: 23938
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:33 pm

Re: Standalone ATMega328p

Post by Franklin97355 »

Is there a way to remove the bootloader so that I don't need the external clock?
http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ArduinoISP should do it.

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “Arduino”