Lurking on Zigbee net with YBox2 logging and showing status

Talk about YBoxen, widgets, Propeller hacking, etc!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Locked
StephMo
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:36 am

Lurking on Zigbee net with YBox2 logging and showing status

Post by StephMo »

Hi all,

I just wanted to show some progress on my latest home project. I'm playing with ZigBee nodes (802.15.4) one of which I attached to the headers on the YBox2 (pic's attached).

I'm using the XBee boards (2mW sufficient for my use). I get them from here: http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/produc ... ts_id=8691

I have the new XBeeMonWidget successfully communicating with the XBee daughter board and also successfully scanning for any nodes found (via RF 2.4GHz Zigbee). The node scan is a separate page served from the web-server in YBox2.

I'll attach more notes as I progress through my project. If anybody else is playing with this mix (Zigbee + YBox2) please comment!

[See attached the pics]

Regards,
Stephen, KZ0Q
--
http://kz0q.us
Attachments
Here's the web served home page<br />Notice I didn't modify the settings form, yet... (have to decide what settings are useful, first ;-)
Here's the web served home page
Notice I didn't modify the settings form, yet... (have to decide what settings are useful, first ;-)
XBeeMonWidgetHome.JPG (57.14 KiB) Viewed 4693 times
And from another angle
And from another angle
HPIM1356crop.jpg (105.26 KiB) Viewed 4690 times
The XBee board mounted on YBox2
The XBee board mounted on YBox2
HPIM1355crop.jpg (65.43 KiB) Viewed 4691 times

StephMo
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:36 am

Re: Lurking on Zigbee net with YBox2 logging and showing status

Post by StephMo »

Since I can only attach three pics.. here's the Node Discovery page prototype

-Stephen, KX0Q
Attachments
Here's a slightly larger page but showing the NODEs seen via the radio
Here's a slightly larger page but showing the NODEs seen via the radio
XBeeMonWidgetNodeList.JPG (126.52 KiB) Viewed 4699 times

StephMo
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:36 am

Re: Lurking on Zigbee net with YBox2 logging and showing status

Post by StephMo »

Here's the Connector pin-out worksheet I used.

I'm only connecting VCC, GND, DIN, DOUT and RESETb and RSSI (but ignoring this) for
now...

The XBee adapter board is straddling the U$3 and JP2 connectors. It only gets VDD from U$3.
All the remaining signals route to JP2.

Stephen, KZ0Q
Attachments
My pinout worksheet...
My pinout worksheet...
XBeeConnectorSetup.jpg (55.99 KiB) Viewed 4675 times

adafruit
 
Posts: 12151
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm

Re: Lurking on Zigbee net with YBox2 logging and showing status

Post by adafruit »

ive been playing with xbees lately myself
so, er...whats it for? :)

StephMo
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:36 am

Re: Lurking on Zigbee net with YBox2 logging and showing status

Post by StephMo »

ladyada, I've been toying with the idea of a home control/sensor net based on a small
flock of sensors and temperature (thermostat) control. The page you don't see, as I've
not created it yet, is the current reported values for all the sensors in the net. I'm
starting small with three or four. Am still looking for something less than $18 per
temperature/humidity sensor. Seems hard to come by. Also trying to solve the
"line voltage thermostat" control problem. Seems no one has hacked either the
"TL8230A Honeywell LineVoltPRO Digital Programmable Thermostat" or the
"Oregon Scientific THGR122NX Wireless Temp/Humidity Sensor" which both look
like they may be a starting point... The sensor I'm a fan of (but it's $18ish) is
the sensirion sht1x/sht7x precision humidity and temperature sensor.

The challenge I'm facing is an older, all electric, house at 7300 ft elevation
(always cooler). No central anything, each room has own heaters and controls.
Would like to see how it's performing and reign in the expenses... thought it
might be fun project. I seem to have a lot to learn...
(which just emphasizes the fun ;-)

Any / all constructive advice welcome!

How about yourself, what brings you to XBee?

Regards,
Stephen, KZ0Q

User avatar
irritantno9
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2008 4:12 pm

Re: Lurking on Zigbee net with YBox2 logging and showing status

Post by irritantno9 »

Pretty cool!
How about a shot of the Video side of this project.

Any link to schematics and source?

StephMo
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:36 am

Re: Lurking on Zigbee net with YBox2 logging and showing status

Post by StephMo »

@irritant#9, I'll post schematic and code shortly.... I've just started this as you can see.
Regarding the code, I'm using the XBee object from the Parallax Object Exchange. This made
the YBox2 implementation very simple.

Meanwhile, while I'm figuring out what sensors to use... I'm moving to prototype what the
sensors would say via the radios. For the sensor side I'm writing an application in C# which
will drive the XBee device via USB using the Explorer board from SparkFun
[See: http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/produc ... ts_id=8687]

At this point i'm rereading the XBee docs regarding messaging (broadcast, point-to-point, and
end-point selection, etc.) and determine which form(s) look most likely to use. An issue is
what do we want to be able to see at the YBox2 as the sensors are reporting. Also, should the
YBox2 be forwarding the data to a central logging and reporting machine or should this central
machine also be monitoring the sensor net and logging all traffic reported and generating the
more detailed (longer timeframe) reports? The YBox2 can then simply provide the links for
accessing them from the central machine requiring much less storage... Hmmm... much
to think about!

See the attached pics.

Happy New Year all!

-Stephen ,KZ0Q
Attachments
Here's one of the XBee devices connected via USB.
Here's one of the XBee devices connected via USB.
HPIM0506resize.jpg (121.66 KiB) Viewed 4605 times
This is the top window of the C# app which is pretending to be a sensor node...
This is the top window of the C# app which is pretending to be a sensor node...
XBeeSensorMockup.PNG (16.62 KiB) Viewed 4602 times

adafruit
 
Posts: 12151
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm

Re: Lurking on Zigbee net with YBox2 logging and showing status

Post by adafruit »

im upgrading my 'kill-a-watt' power monitors with xbees

adafruit
 
Posts: 12151
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm

Re: Lurking on Zigbee net with YBox2 logging and showing status

Post by adafruit »

Hey stephmo do you have any screenshots of the TV? Whats the YBox2 displaying afterall? :)

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “YBox2 (discontinued)”