Powering stpper / shield

Adafruit Ethernet, Motor, Proto, Wave, Datalogger, GPS Shields - etc!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
mahuro

Powering stpper / shield

Post by mahuro »

Hi All,

I hope you can help me ... I am not a bad programmer ... but a total newbie to electronics ....

I got a motor shield ...and a couple of stepper motors ( Nanotech ST4209S1006-B) , in the label (stepper) says 4.0V 0.95A ....

I Would like to power up my arduino from USB, and the Steppers from an external ( wall) source ... so my questions are:

1- what type of power supply do I need/can use ? I have one that says output 12VAC 1000mA ... would that work ... or can you suggest one ( I believe I read on the shield page that a 5-6 Volts is good, is that right ???

2- can i connnect the external power supply to the arduino DC jack with a power source greater than 5V ?? i.e.: the 12VAC , mentioned above ...

3- to Plug the power supply to the shield external , I would have to remove the "fitting" and plug the wires directly to each of the two screw inputs, how do I know which one is Live and which one is Neutral ?? I read that pluging it inverted will kill the shield ....

Many thanks !!

adafruit_support_bill

Re: Powering stpper / shield

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

1. 12v is too much for a 4v motor. 5-6v should work fine (there is about a 1.4v drop in the controller itself).
2. It is better to connect via the external power connection on the shield - and remove the jumper. This will give you better isolation.
3. If your power supply outputs are not marked, measure them with a meter to be sure.

mahuro

Post by mahuro »

Hi Me again ...

Just to add to the questions above: I just noticed that my steppers have 6 wires !! , how can I connect them to the motor shield ???

Cheers ..

Mahuro.

adafruit_support_bill