Problem with arduino uno + ethernet shield chip w5100

Adafruit Ethernet, Motor, Proto, Wave, Datalogger, GPS Shields - etc!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Locked
drc0506
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 3:43 pm

Problem with arduino uno + ethernet shield chip w5100

Post by drc0506 »

Hello!

I'm new here and I'm having problems to connect my arduino uno with a ethernet shield with chip w5100.
The leds Link, 100M, COOL and FULLD are always off.

I plug a crossover cable in my ethernet shield and in my laptop, upload all sketch, webserver, webclient, etc and still not working.

I set the ip, gateway, subnet.

I must do something different connecting a ethernet shield with laptop with a crossover cable?

I don't know what to do. I did all things and my ethernet shield still not working.

Help please.

Sorry for bad english, I'm brazilian.

User avatar
Franklin97355
 
Posts: 23911
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:33 pm

Re: Problem with arduino uno + ethernet shield chip w5100

Post by Franklin97355 »

What code are you running on the arduino and what on the laptop?

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88093
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Problem with arduino uno + ethernet shield chip w5100

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

How are you powering your arduino when you do this?
Also, try a different cable. Even a straight-through cable will work with most PCs these days, since most Ethernet ports will auto-sense.

drc0506
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 3:43 pm

Re: Problem with arduino uno + ethernet shield chip w5100

Post by drc0506 »

I tried this code to the arduino:

Code: Select all

#include <SPI.h>
#include <Ethernet.h>

const unsigned int DAYTIME_PORT = 13;
const unsigned int BAUD_RATE = 9600;

byte mac[]         = { 0xDE, 0xAD, 0xBE, 0xEF, 0xFE, 0xED };
byte my_ip[]       = { 192, 168, 1, 120 };
byte time_server[] = { 192, 43, 244, 18 };
byte gateway[]     = { 192, 168, 1, 1 };
byte subnet[]      = { 255, 255, 255, 0};

Client client(time_server, DAYTIME_PORT);

void setup() {
  Ethernet.begin(mac, my_ip);
  Serial.begin(BAUD_RATE);
}

void loop() {
  delay(1000);
  Serial.print("Connecting...");
  
  if(!client.connect()){
    Serial.println("connection failed.");
  }
  else{
    Serial.println("connected.");
    delay(1000);
    
    while(client.available()){
      char c = client.read();
      Serial.print(c);
    }
    
    Serial.println("Disconnecting.");
    client.stop();
  }
}
I started the subnet[] and gateway[] when plugging in my router.

Also I tried all codes in examples of ethernet library. Maybe this shield isn't compatible with Ethernet library?

I'm powering the arduino with a usb cable and a 12v adaptador.

I also tried only with the usb cable and still not working.

I also plug a straight-through cable to arduino and my laptop.

My router is a Technicolor TG580v2 and when I plug a straight-through cable in this router, it doesn't recognized
the arduino. The leds of the port are always off too.

Any ideas? Thanks for the reply.

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88093
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Problem with arduino uno + ethernet shield chip w5100

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

Try it without the router. Just the crossover cable between your PC and the Arduino.

drc0506
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 3:43 pm

Re: Problem with arduino uno + ethernet shield chip w5100

Post by drc0506 »

I did it, crossover between my laptop and my arduino.

Should I configure anything in my laptop to communicate with arduino or just set a IP like 192.168.1.2 for my laptop and
a IP for arduino like 192.168.1.3?

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88093
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Problem with arduino uno + ethernet shield chip w5100

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

Did you get a link light when connected directly? If you have a link light and you configure with those addresses do they communicate?

drc0506
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 3:43 pm

Re: Problem with arduino uno + ethernet shield chip w5100

Post by drc0506 »

No, I didn't get a link light, this is the problem.

I guess that the shield is damaged or something like this.

Thanks for reply.

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88093
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Problem with arduino uno + ethernet shield chip w5100

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

Was this shield purchased from Adafruit?

drc0506
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 3:43 pm

Re: Problem with arduino uno + ethernet shield chip w5100

Post by drc0506 »

No, I bought this shield by a friend and he bought this shield in dfrobot website.

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88093
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Problem with arduino uno + ethernet shield chip w5100

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

DFRobot has a support forum & they should be able to help you with this.

drc0506
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 3:43 pm

Re: Problem with arduino uno + ethernet shield chip w5100

Post by drc0506 »

I use an arduino uno R2, maybe it isn't compatible with my ethernet shield?

Any know?

Another question: an ethernet shield has a bootloader? Or it use the bootloader of the arduino uno?

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88093
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Problem with arduino uno + ethernet shield chip w5100

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

DFRobot has a support forum & they should be able to help you with this.

User avatar
helmi
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 6:50 pm

Re: Problem with arduino uno + ethernet shield chip w5100

Post by helmi »

HELLO,i have a problem with communication between pc and arduino+shield ethernet
i don't have a router so i used to connecet directly my shield ethernet to my pc
my pc ip 192.168.1.100
i set my arduino to ip 192.168.1.101
i have a clé 3g to have connexion in my pc
thanks .

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “Arduino Shields from Adafruit”