How to access L1 and L2 in the SD shield?

Adafruit Ethernet, Motor, Proto, Wave, Datalogger, GPS Shields - etc!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Locked
User avatar
flyerx
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 3:33 am

How to access L1 and L2 in the SD shield?

Post by flyerx »

Hello,

I am trying to use the L1 and L2 LEDs included with the SD logging shield. The shield is connected to an Arduino UNO R3. What pins and/or jumpers I need to use to get the LEDs to work? Also what are the functions of the three jumpers in the SD shield?

Thanks,

FlyerX

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: How to access L1 and L2 in the SD shield?

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

[EDIT - this is the right answer]
The LEDs are connected to JP11 (the two holes labelled "LEDS"). From there, you have to connect them yourself to whatever digital IO pins you want to use. They already have current-limiting resistors, so you can connect directly to digital IO pins.

User avatar
pgrunwald
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 10:32 pm

Re: How to access L1 and L2 in the SD shield?

Post by pgrunwald »

Do these work the same on the new version of the board?

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: How to access L1 and L2 in the SD shield?

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

pgrunwald wrote:Do these work the same on the new version of the board?
You mean the pre-assembed version? Yes - you still have to wire them to digital IO pins.

User avatar
pgrunwald
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 10:32 pm

Re: How to access L1 and L2 in the SD shield?

Post by pgrunwald »

I did wire both (not at the same time) L1 and L2 to pin 0. I set pin 0 to OUTPUT. The LED comes on at power up and digital write with HIGH or LOW does not do anything.

What am I missing? I'm using a arduino duemilanove as the base board.

TIA,
Paul

JD3
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 8:01 am

Re: How to access L1 and L2 in the SD shield?

Post by JD3 »

Digital pins 0 and 1 are used for serial communication. When you upload a sketch these two pins are used.

Try using a different digital pin.

Also write a simple sketch to just turn on the LED's. The Blink sketch in the File\ Examples\ Basic folder works.
Change the LED value to the digital pin you are using.

User avatar
pgrunwald
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 10:32 pm

Re: How to access L1 and L2 in the SD shield?

Post by pgrunwald »

OK, I will try that ,thanks.

BTW, I was going from here: http://arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoBoardDuemilanove

"Each of the 14 digital pins on the Duemilanove can be used as an input or output, using pinMode(), digitalWrite(), and digitalRead() functions. "

I thought I could take over the pin after the sketch was loaded?

-Paul

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: How to access L1 and L2 in the SD shield?

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

pgrunwald wrote:I thought I could take over the pin after the sketch was loaded?
Yes, you can. Perhaps there is something wrong with your code. If you post it, we can have a look.

User avatar
pgrunwald
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 10:32 pm

Re: How to access L1 and L2 in the SD shield?

Post by pgrunwald »

Uh, DOH! <hangs head sheepishly...>

file:///G:/Arduino/arduino-1.0.3/reference/Serial.html

"Used for communication between the Arduino board and a computer or other devices. All Arduino boards have at least one serial port (also known as a UART or USART): Serial. It communicates on digital pins 0 (RX) and 1 (TX) as well as with the computer via USB. Thus, if you use these functions, you cannot also use pins 0 and 1 for digital input or output."

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “Arduino Shields from Adafruit”