Data Logger Shield with Mega

Adafruit Ethernet, Motor, Proto, Wave, Datalogger, GPS Shields - etc!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
richardkhoo
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 2:49 pm

Data Logger Shield with Mega

Post by richardkhoo »

Hi,

May I know why I got port in used error after compliing the AdafruitMega.pde ?

Please advise. Thanks
Attachments
port error.PNG
port error.PNG (52.23 KiB) Viewed 1916 times

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88093
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Data Logger Shield with Mega

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

Some program is either actively using the port or has neglected to close it. Sometimes it is the Bluetooth stack hogging the ports. But the Arduino IDE itself (actually the Java runtime) does have a bad habit of hanging up the ports too. This often happens if you hit the upload button when an upload is already in process.

From my experience, when this happens you have to close all instances of the IDE, then locate the Java runtime (javaw.exe) process with TaskManager and kill that. Then you can regain use of the port. Depending on how many other things you have going on, it is often simpler just to restart the machine.

richardkhoo
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 2:49 pm

Re: Data Logger Shield with Mega

Post by richardkhoo »

Thanks. It was easy, I just had to reboot my machine.

Next issue: how do I know if the data logger shield is working correctly? I don't see the green LED lights up when I inserted the battery. How do I troubleshoot it?

I tried to do the example of RCTlib and I got this reply in serial monitor. Is the data logger shield working correctly?
Attachments
Serial Monitor output
Serial Monitor output
serial monitor.jpg (58.97 KiB) Viewed 1841 times

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88093
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Data Logger Shield with Mega

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

The LEDs are configurable and won't light up unless you have wired and programmed them to do something. Your RTC output doesn't look quite right. If you post clear photos of the front and back of the board we'll check your assembly.

richardkhoo
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 2:49 pm

Re: Data Logger Shield with Mega

Post by richardkhoo »

Please help. Is there any guide to troubleshoot?
Attachments
IMG_0145.JPG
IMG_0145.JPG (888.49 KiB) Viewed 1834 times
IMG_0144.JPG
IMG_0144.JPG (850.34 KiB) Viewed 1834 times
IMG_0143.JPG
IMG_0143.JPG (752.5 KiB) Viewed 1834 times

richardkhoo
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 2:49 pm

Re: Data Logger Shield with Mega

Post by richardkhoo »

continue
Attachments
IMG_0148.JPG
IMG_0148.JPG (814.78 KiB) Viewed 1833 times
IMG_0146.JPG
IMG_0146.JPG (998.63 KiB) Viewed 1833 times

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88093
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Data Logger Shield with Mega

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

Soldering appears OK. Did you remember to put a blob of solder under the battery holder? That is required for good contact.

Also, try running the CardInfo sketch in the SD library. That will tell you if the SD card interface is working properly.

richardkhoo
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 2:49 pm

Re: Data Logger Shield with Mega

Post by richardkhoo »

Hi,

I got an error when I tried to upload the CardInfo sketch. Please see the image. May I know how can I retify? Thanks
Attachments
cardinfo.jpg
cardinfo.jpg (70.89 KiB) Viewed 1751 times

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88093
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Data Logger Shield with Mega

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

Looks like you have two copies of the SD library. If you installed the Adafruit version, you need remove the old one completely from the Arduino Libraries folder. It is not sufficient to re-name it. It must be removed from the folder completely.

richardkhoo
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 2:49 pm

Re: Data Logger Shield with Mega

Post by richardkhoo »

Hi,
apprently, it is working fine with the SD. Am I correct?

So, may I know what should I do next? Thanks
Attachments
sdcard.jpg
sdcard.jpg (70.59 KiB) Viewed 1746 times

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88093
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Data Logger Shield with Mega

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

Looks like your SD is working OK. Still getting strange numbers from the RTC?

What sketch are you running?

richardkhoo
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 2:49 pm

Re: Data Logger Shield with Mega

Post by richardkhoo »

Hi,

I'm back. I still get strange numbers. I ran ds1307 sketch. pls help. thanks

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88093
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Data Logger Shield with Mega

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

The shield was designed for the standard Arduino. The Mega has different pins for I2C. When using a Mega, you need to use 'softI2C' to talk to the DS1307.
http://forums.adafruit.com/viewtopic.ph ... 722#p66953

richardkhoo
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 2:49 pm

Re: Data Logger Shield with Mega

Post by richardkhoo »

Hi,

It is working now. Thanks for your help.

May I know how can I get the LED to work? In what situation I would be able to see blinking of the LEDS?

Thanks

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88093
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Data Logger Shield with Mega

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

The leds are configurable with jumpers. You can connect them to any pin and control them in your code.
The Light-Temp Logger example uses them. See the jumpers to pins 2 and 3 in the photo.

http://www.ladyada.net/make/logshield/lighttemp.html
Image

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “Arduino Shields from Adafruit”