DOA: My Brand New 2.8" LCD/Touchscreen has no touch outputs

by ericnewman on Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:45 am

Hi, just unboxed this new shield, plugged it into an new Arduino Duo, and installed the necessary libraries. I'm on a Mac running Arduino 1.0.2 tools.

All the graphics demos work fine. However the "Touchscreendemo" has no output. I modified the code to debug it, changing the " if (p.z > ts.pressureThreshhold) " to "if(1)".

Now I see scrolling outputs as follows:

X = 1017 Y = 546 Pressure = 0
X = 1023 Y = 545 Pressure = -299
X = 1017 Y = 546 Pressure = 0
X = 1023 Y = 545 Pressure = -299

Touching the screen has no effect. This is all using unmodified boards, no wiring, simply stacking the two shields, with nothing else attached.

Any Suggestions? I suspect it's just a bad board...
ericnewman
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:04 am

Re: DOA: My Brand New 2.8" LCD/Touchscreen has no touch outputs

by madhunm on Thu Nov 29, 2012 2:17 pm

Hello,

Do you have an Arduino Uno to try this with?

Thanks,
Madhu.
madhunm
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:06 pm

Re: DOA: My Brand New 2.8" LCD/Touchscreen has no touch outputs

by ericnewman on Thu Nov 29, 2012 2:53 pm

Yes - it is plugged into a new Arduino Duo board right now.
ericnewman
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:04 am

Re: DOA: My Brand New 2.8" LCD/Touchscreen has no touch outputs

by madhunm on Thu Nov 29, 2012 4:22 pm

Hello,

Not an Arduino Due; but an Arduino Uno.

Regards,
Madhu.
madhunm
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:06 pm

Re: DOA: My Brand New 2.8" LCD/Touchscreen has no touch outputs

by ericnewman on Thu Nov 29, 2012 4:28 pm

Sorry, I meant to say UNO. It is connected only to an UNO, thats the only Arduino boards I have.
ericnewman
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:04 am

Re: DOA: My Brand New 2.8" LCD/Touchscreen has no touch outputs

by adafruit on Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:19 pm

we do check every board for both display and touch

first - lets verify, are you using the BREAKOUT or the SHIELD? they are different to set up but they look very similar :)
User avatar
adafruit
 
Posts: 11506
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 3:21 pm
Location: nyc

Re: DOA: My Brand New 2.8" LCD/Touchscreen has no touch outputs

by ericnewman on Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:22 pm

This is the shield, mounted directly atop a new Arduino UNO, with no wires, just stacking pins. The display works fine with all the demos. The touchscreen part is the only issue as described above.
ericnewman
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:04 am

Re: DOA: My Brand New 2.8" LCD/Touchscreen has no touch outputs

by adafruit on Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:30 pm

OK, display works then. Now lets try the TFTshieldpaint demo.

make sure you select the SHIELD version! there's two. can you paint on the screen? use a fingernail or stylus (toothpick works in a pinch)
User avatar
adafruit
 
Posts: 11506
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 3:21 pm
Location: nyc

Re: DOA: My Brand New 2.8" LCD/Touchscreen has no touch outputs

by ericnewman on Fri Nov 30, 2012 1:56 pm

Ok, First off thanks always for the great work you guys do. To make sure this wasn't me -

I did a clean install of the Arduino IDE, added the libraries for the TFT shield, Touchscreen, and SD, and plugged in the UNO with the shield attached. I ran the TFTPaint demo, and voila, it all worked fine.

I'm not sure what happened before, and on two separate development computers, but I suspect it must be another library creating some incompatibility. I had been using other LCD screens so there must be a conflict there.

Everything seems to be working fine.

Thanks again for your help.
ericnewman
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:04 am