Motor Shield and Sensors
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Motor Shield and Sensors

by dehein2 on Tue Dec 25, 2012 8:49 am

Hello,

i'm pretty new to Arduino stuff and just bought the Motor Shield. I was wondering how to use the unused Pins for Sensors. I would like to connect some Sensors. Atm. i only want to use 2 DC Motors and nothing else with the Motor Shield.

So if i understand the manual correct, the following PIN's are unused:

- All 6 analog input pins are available.
- Digital pin 2, and 13 are not used.
- Digital pin 5: DC Motor #3 / Stepper #2 (activation/speed control)
- Digital pin 6: DC Motor #4 / Stepper #2 (activation/speed control)
- Digitals pin 9: Servo #1 control
- Digital pin 10: Servo #2 control

So i do have have 6 analog and 6 Digital Pins are available to me, correct?

So how do i use those Pins? I noticed, that all Arduino Pins are connected to the Motor Shield, and that next to the connecting Pin's there is another row of unused "holes" ;)
Is each of these holes connected to the corresponding Pin? So can i just use those holes to solder in some male headers and use them to connect Sensors?

I notices 2 more rows of holes, 6 holes each. Is it correct that one Row is connected to 5V and the other Row to GND?

THanks a lot Dennis
dehein2

Re: Motor Shield and Sensors

by allanonmage on Tue Dec 25, 2012 2:20 pm

Someone has done something similar to what you want to do, so this might be a push in the right direction:

http://www.instructables.com/id/Intro-a ... oull-need/
allanonmage

by daremick on Fri Jan 04, 2013 8:11 pm

daremick

by adafruit_support_bill on Sat Jan 05, 2013 6:14 am

So how do i use those Pins? I noticed, that all Arduino Pins are connected to the Motor Shield, and that next to the connecting Pin's there is another row of unused "holes" ;)
Is each of these holes connected to the corresponding Pin? So can i just use those holes to solder in some male headers and use them to connect Sensors?