First time touching Arduino and Wave Shield

Adafruit Ethernet, Motor, Proto, Wave, Datalogger, GPS Shields - etc!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
jordandau

First time touching Arduino and Wave Shield

Post by jordandau »

I'm very capable at soldering, have built some recording hardware from scratch myself, but I've just started in the world of arduino. I picked up the Diavolino and a wave shield for a project I'd like to do. I've never touched either before and I did get the hang of programming LED sequences with just the Diavolino just fine. The problem I'm having is getting the wave shield to do anything at all. I have zero programming experience, but I thought I could read and follow directions just fine. But there are (in my opinion) zero tutorials to get this thing going. I'm trying to research and get it done myself, but I seem to have hit a wall with my zero experience.
From what I gathered, I downloaded and placed the wave shield library into the appropriate section, I do see it on the sketch program under libraries. If I import the library (which I have no idea what that means or why I have to do that) it seems to paste a few lines of code, then what? I thought maybe that the example sketches would help, but I can't even get those to work. The code has errors all over the place. Which I know is my fault, I'm doing something wrong. My best guess was, import the library, which pastes like 4 lines of code, then I want to run the sketch, so I tried to copy/paste the play the file on the sd card example sketch and it's just full of errors. Nothing works. Can anyone point me to a tutorial that explains and runs through a start up? Once I see it done I can go through and learn what does what and edit and move things around, but going from nothing to anything that works is a bit frustrating.

adafruit_support_bill

Re: First time touching Arduino and Wave Shield