Motor Shield v2 and Netduino

Adafruit Ethernet, Motor, Proto, Wave, Datalogger, GPS Shields - etc!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
deashute

Motor Shield v2 and Netduino

Post by deashute »

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to the world of Netduino, but my goal is to use stepper motors with the Adafruit Motor Shield v2.0 on my Netduino Plus 2. I have found a plethora of code samples for using the first generation of motor shield with C# and the Netduino, but have had no luck in my attempts to control version 2. I understand that the motor shield is controlled through I2C, but am not completely certain what the process of programming for I2C entails. I know that the majority of users on this forum most likely tend towards Arduino, but does anyone have any experience with Netduino and this motor shield, or maybe any idea of where I can get started?

Thanks,
Dean

adafruit_support_mike

Re: Motor Shield v2 and Netduino

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

I2C is a fairly simple protocol once you get used to it, but you have to suspend disbelief for a while as you do get used to it.

Start by looking at datasheets for a few devices that use I2C. They almost always include a description of the basic protocol, then explain the variations necessary to make the device in question work.

http://www.adafruit.com/datasheets/mcp23017.pdf
http://www.adafruit.com/datasheets/ina219.pdf
http://www.adafruit.com/datasheets/mcp4725.pdf

If you have questions, post back and we'll see if we can help.

deashute

Post by deashute »

Thanks for your help. I suppose that has been my biggest problem so far, grasping that we can control an entire slave device using just two pins.