AVR ISP Programmer Shield Clarifications

Adafruit Ethernet, Motor, Proto, Wave, Datalogger, GPS Shields - etc!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
gwideman

AVR ISP Programmer Shield Clarifications

Post by gwideman »

I am in need of a concise explanation of exactly how the Standalone AVR ISP Programmer Shield fits into the AVR programming landscape -- and I can't help thinking other customers might also like this.

(FWIW, I have many years of software development experience, and embedded experience from the 8051 and EEPROM-burning era.)

1. Is there a schematic for this product? I'd like more traction on exactly what it implements.

2. This product is called an "ISP" programmer, yet the product description and photos clearly are about _out_ of system programming. Is there some additional feature whereby this product is useful for hooking up to an in-system AVR? Or does the "ISP" refer only to the aspect that it's using the ISP programming pins on the AVR?

3. The product description shows use with atmega328p, but is it usable with other AVRs? Presumably the fewer-pins AVRs would need different wiring to the ZIF socket (which suggests wiring the ZIF using headers and jumpers instead of soldered wires).

4. Stand-alone programming mode -- can this program arbitrary code to the target, or just bootloader code?

5. Part of my puzzlement is probably an incomplete understanding of ISP and bootloader-enabled programming. I *think* the way it works is as follows:

a. A blank (or otherwise bootloader-lacking) AVR can be programmed with arbitrary code via ISP, which uses SPI + Reset twiddling. (And ISP can be used to set the fuses in addition to the flash.)

b. Can ISP replace only _part_ of the code on a previously-programmed AVR?

c. One of the things you can load via ISP is a bootloader program (assuming the chip has enough flash memory).