NeoPixel Matrix Shield - No Lights

Adafruit Ethernet, Motor, Proto, Wave, Datalogger, GPS Shields - etc!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
electronics_noob

NeoPixel Matrix Shield - No Lights

Post by electronics_noob »

Hello,

I just received my NeoPixel Matrix Shield for the Arduino and I'm not able to get any lights to work. I'm a total noob with electronics so I'm assuming that it is something that I'm doing wrong. Any help would be appreciated. Here is what I've done so far:

1) Broke apart the header so that it would fit on the Arduino (5, 8, 8, and 10 pins).
2) Sat the NeoPixel Shield on top of the header and confirmed that the header came through the shield. However, it wasn't a totally flush fit due to the USB connection on the Arduino.
3) Connected the USB connector to my laptop and the Arduino.
4) Installed the 3 required libraries on my laptop.
5) I tried the example Strandtest program. I uploaded it to the Arduino and could see the lights indicating that the program was received. However, none of the lights on the NeoPixel matrix lit up.
6) I tried the example Goggle program. I uploaded it to the Arduino and could see the lights indicating that the program was received. However, none of the lights on the NeoPixel matrix lit up.
7) I tried the sample program from https://github.com/adafruit/Adafruit_Ne ... ixtest.pde. No lights.

I didn't solder the connection between the Arduino and the NeoPixel Shield Matrix. Is that a problem? Does anything else look wrong? Thanks in advance.

adafruit_support_bill

Re: NeoPixel Matrix Shield - No Lights

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

2) Sat the NeoPixel Shield on top of the header and confirmed that the header came through the shield.
I don't see any mention of solder. You need to solder the headers to the shield.

This is important. Powering the shield without reliably soldered connections can damage the pixels on the shield.