no anonymous postings anymore!

by adafruit on Fri Feb 17, 2006 12:21 pm

sorry, trying to cut down on spam.
User avatar
adafruit
 
Posts: 11647
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 3:21 pm
Location: nyc

Re: no anonymous postings anymore!

by stevenclements on Thu Mar 02, 2006 5:02 pm

ladyada wrote:sorry, trying to cut down on spam.


great idea!
User avatar
stevenclements
 
Posts: 304
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 5:08 pm
Location: Edmonton, Alberta

ann.

by Mark_ on Sat Mar 18, 2006 9:10 pm

huhn? what? its fixed isn't it?
User avatar
Mark_
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 3:02 am
Location: Montreal Canada

by daguuy on Sun Mar 26, 2006 12:53 am

woohoo! let's celebrate with the kitty in a basket!
Image
when life gives you lemons, choke on them and die...stupid lemon eater
User avatar
daguuy
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 5:59 pm
Location: missouri's nose

by Olaf Marzocchi on Sun Jul 16, 2006 2:23 am

Spam is still coming. It is strange, I've never seen a forum with so much spam, even those badly moderated/administered.
Mybe this one is an important one, but is there at least a way to remove spam threads as soon as they are marked?
Olaf Marzocchi
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 2:29 am

by dj_stick on Tue Jul 18, 2006 7:51 am

Olaf Marzocchi wrote:Spam is still coming. It is strange, I've never seen a forum with so much spam, even those badly moderated/administered.
Mybe this one is an important one, but is there at least a way to remove spam threads as soon as they are marked?
i've seen far worse, one of the sites i mod gets at least 10 a week, but it's deleted and the users banned within hours
dj_stick
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 7:17 pm

by Olaf Marzocchi on Wed Jul 19, 2006 3:31 pm

Ok, what about deleting the threads here? those spammers only get an higher pagerank with this forum ....
Olaf Marzocchi
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 2:29 am

by justadude on Tue May 20, 2008 7:15 pm

this forum ranks very very high with many keywords on google i have noticed. They have bots now that can break captcha and automate registration and I have seen a lot of forums getting spammed by these bots. What you do is blacklist the proxies they are using they get them from lists, anyways you can block about 60% of the spam by blacklisting the proxies but not all of it.
User avatar
justadude
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 7:29 am

by Olaf Marzocchi on Wed May 21, 2008 3:32 pm

I think the system used in rapidshare is quite effective, it is an improved captcha where you are asked to write the letters marked with the image of a cat.
Olaf Marzocchi
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 2:29 am

by justadude on Wed May 21, 2008 8:36 pm

i dislike captchas they are impossible for disabled people to decipher I can see fine and sometimes can't even read them there are better turing tests then captchas
User avatar
justadude
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 7:29 am

by hgds on Wed Aug 27, 2008 10:36 pm

justadude wrote:i dislike captchas they are impossible for disabled people to decipher I can see fine and sometimes can't even read them there are better turing tests then captchas

ROFL, i agree with u on that one.
Yo, this is raj.........
Image
User avatar
hgds
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 11:14 pm
Location: Canada

Re:

by alexandertmills on Tue Oct 06, 2009 1:34 pm

Olaf Marzocchi wrote:I think the system used in rapidshare is quite effective, it is an improved captcha where you are asked to write the letters marked with the image of a cat.


Yes! I haven't actually seen this, but anything that involves a cat MUST be secure! =^_^=
alexandertmills
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 1:28 pm