tweetawatt transmitter problem

XBee projects like the adapter, xBee tutorials, tweetawatt/wattcher, etc. from Adafruit

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
lamplight

tweetawatt transmitter problem

Post by lamplight »

Hi
like someone else here,i also wired up both xbees as the receivers. i cut out the IC , 2 resistors and the red LED, and proceeded to wire it up per the directions for transmitter. i programmed the xbee chip per the directions for the transmitter. everything went ok making the transmitter (my case is also a little different from the books but i found a spot for things).

but my problem is this: when i plug in the kill-a-watt the display faes up, then goes off, faeds upm, then goes off, regularly every few seconds. also the green asc led isnt lighting up. any idea on which components i should check and how to check them? as you can tell im pretty new to this. im fairly sure i had no issues on my solder joints, unless the board was scratched up too much when i cut out the chip. i did some continuity testing after cutting off the bad stuff and it seemed to be the same results as the working receiver. i did go through these directions carefully so im kind of at a loss.

any help thanks, i was so excited to get this working...

lamplight

Re: tweetawatt transmitter problem

Post by lamplight »

i just opened it up and went through the directions/pictures again and everything looks fine, when i put it back together the same display issue was happening but this time the kill-a-watt is beep once per second or 2 with no display. not sure if that helps narrow down what my problem might be but there it is.

Franklin97355

Post by Franklin97355 »

Do you have a p4400 or an EZ? The Kill-a-watt EZ has a less powerful Power supply.

lamplight

Post by lamplight »

thanks, it is a p4400 .

adafruit

Post by adafruit »

what do you mean "cut out the chip"?

lamplight