Please can someone help a Noob? XBEE Wireless Midi to custom guitar?

XBee projects like the adapter, xBee tutorials, tweetawatt/wattcher, etc. from Adafruit

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
orangekeeper

Please can someone help a Noob? XBEE Wireless Midi to custom guitar?

Post by orangekeeper »

Hi Folks,

Please can someone offer some advice on this one?

I'm not very experienced with electronics, but can follow some instructions and purchased a couple of XBEE's in order to build a wireless midi sender/receiver for my guitar. My guitar incorporates Line 6 Variax electronics, which hosts a number of different sounds/patches that can be changed using Sysex/Midi commands from a Floor pedal (a POD HD 500) over a bespoke cable.

I'd like to go fully wireless.. The guitar can run on batteries and I have a wireless audio transciever, but I need a solution that will remove the midi cable from the mix. Currently, if I want the guitar wireless, I can't change my patches on the fly since that relies on the cable, hence I thought the wireless XBEE's would be a good idea... But something isn't working right...

I've setup the XBEEs for wireless MIDI as per the tutorial on this site, I've successfully changed the baud rate on both modules using X-CTU and I can get them to talk to each other (Sending data either from my laptop or from the floor pedal results in the receiver's red led lighting up), but my guitar won't change patches when connected via the XBee's.

At this point, I really don't know enough about it to troubleshoot things any further. I've tried checking schematics and diagrams, but can't find a solution that works, so I'm kinda just tinkering around at random at the moment.