upgrading xbee

XBee projects like the adapter, xBee tutorials, tweetawatt/wattcher, etc. from Adafruit

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
bradb667

upgrading xbee

Post by bradb667 »

lizardF wrote:After I upgraded the firmware, I'm getting the expected behaviour.
I'm curious... how did you upgrade the firmware?

I bought a pair of the Xbee Adapter kits hoping they would allow me to update the firmware (I'd been using a 'headless' 'duino before and always got "lost communication with modem" when writing new firmware).

I was disappointed to discover I'm having the same problem with the Adapters.

I've seen this: http://itp.nyu.edu/~raf275/meshnetworki ... grade.html, which seems to imply some of the signals need to be reversed, but I'm very new to the hardware side of things and a bit confused.

Brad.

PS I agree that this form factor seems to be much better than the normal, bulky, shield.

lizardF

Re: Xbee Adapter Kit LEDs

Post by lizardF »

For upgrading firmware, I use X-CTU, the Xbee Adapter, and the FTDI USB TTL-232 cable. No signal swapping needed.

I get "lost comm" msgs when switching from AT <-> API firmware. But after selecting the corresponding checkbox and then re-reading, all's well.

Since I'm using Linux and not Windows, to use X-CTU with Wine required me to create COM softlinks in my ~/.wine/dosdevices folder like this: ln -s /dev/ttyUSB0 ~/.wine/dosdevices/com10

After that, I pretty much followed steps 4-5 in the link you provided:
http://itp.nyu.edu/~raf275/meshnetworki ... grade.html

I had been using one Xbee as a coordinator and one as an endpoint with so-so success. I've been having very good luck with putting endpoint firmware on both, setting their Node IDs (NI) uniquely, then setting each destination to the other:

Xbee 1: Set NI to PINK, write firmware
Xbee 2: Set NI to WHITE, write firmware

Xbee 1: ATDNWHITE then ATWR
Xbee 2: ATDNPINK then ATWR