Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by adafruit_support_bill on Sat Jul 28, 2012 10:34 am

You need to disconnect at least the yellow wire, so you don't have both processors trying to talk to it.

De-solder the yellow jumper that goes to pin 24. Connect a jumper from that to your Arduino. Connect a jumper from GND on the Arduino to GND on the Monochron. Then you should be able to power up both systems and see if you can read the sensor with the Arduino.
User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 25404
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 9:11 am

Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by edc1591 on Sat Jul 28, 2012 5:08 pm

It works when connected to the Arduino. However, I reconnected it to the monochron and tried using the make-shift oscilloscope again, and this time it didn't flicker at all. I think before it may have flickered because of a bad contact with the pin. What does it mean that it doesn't flicker?
edc1591
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 10:12 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by adafruit_support_bill on Sun Jul 29, 2012 4:40 am

What does it mean that it doesn't flicker?

It means that the processor is not sending the signals required to read from the sensor.
User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 25404
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 9:11 am

Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by edc1591 on Sun Jul 29, 2012 2:52 pm

OK, just tried it again and it is flickering. Apparently the LCD has to be connected when doing this. Anyway, it's still not working. Should I try connecting it to another pin? Which one?
edc1591
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 10:12 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by adafruit_support_bill on Mon Jul 30, 2012 5:16 am

D3 (pin 5) can be used. You need to move the resistor from R2' to R2 and will loose brightness control on the backlight.
User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 25404
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 9:11 am

Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by edc1591 on Mon Jul 30, 2012 7:35 am

I'd rather not lose brightness control. Do you think switching pins would even make a difference. Is there a way to test pin 24 to see if that's actually the problem?
edc1591
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 10:12 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by adafruit_support_bill on Mon Jul 30, 2012 8:42 am

The only way to really see what is going on is with a scope or a logic analyzer. When you tested this on your regular Arduino, did you use pin 24 (Digital 14) also?
User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 25404
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 9:11 am

Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by edc1591 on Mon Jul 30, 2012 5:14 pm

You mean pin 15 right? Analog A1? If so, then yes. That pin works on the Arduino.
edc1591
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 10:12 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by adafruit_support_bill on Mon Jul 30, 2012 5:22 pm

You mean pin 15 right? Analog A1?

Yes. That is what I meant. Not sure why the same code would run different in the Monochron. You could try swapping the processors to see if that makes a difference.
User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 25404
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 9:11 am

Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by edc1591 on Mon Jul 30, 2012 5:40 pm

OK, I switched processors and when I try to upload to the Arduino processor on the monochron PCB, I get this error:

Code: Select all
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
edc1591
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 10:12 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by adafruit_support_bill on Mon Jul 30, 2012 5:50 pm

The Arduino processor is going to have a different bootloader on it. You need to select the board-type corresponding to the bootloader.
User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 25404
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 9:11 am

Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by edc1591 on Mon Jul 30, 2012 5:54 pm

Still getting the same error.
edc1591
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 10:12 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by adafruit_support_bill on Mon Jul 30, 2012 5:55 pm

Hold the shift key while pressing the upload button and post the output.
User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 25404
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 9:11 am

Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by edc1591 on Mon Jul 30, 2012 5:58 pm

Code: Select all
Binary sketch size: 29,454 bytes (of a 32,256 byte maximum)
avrdude: usbdev_open(): did not find any USB device "usb"
edc1591
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 10:12 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by adafruit_support_bill on Mon Jul 30, 2012 6:04 pm

Looks like it is not recognizing your FTDI cable. Are you sure you have the right serial device selected in the tools menu?
User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 25404
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 9:11 am