Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by adafruit_support_bill on Mon Jul 30, 2012 6:04 pm

Looks like it is not recognizing your FTDI cable. Are you sure you have the right serial device selected in the tools menu?
User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 25348
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 9:11 am

Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by edc1591 on Mon Jul 30, 2012 6:06 pm

Yup, 100% sure.
edc1591
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 10:12 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by adafruit_support_bill on Mon Jul 30, 2012 6:28 pm

Try disconnecting and re-connecting the USB end. The FTDI cable should be recognized by your computer regardless of whether anything is connected to the serial end.
User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 25348
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 9:11 am

Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by edc1591 on Mon Jul 30, 2012 6:31 pm

Still getting the same error. I tried a different USB port too.
edc1591
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 10:12 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by adafruit_support_bill on Mon Jul 30, 2012 6:46 pm

Can you go back to the last configuration that worked? (prior to the processor swap)
User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 25348
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 9:11 am

Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by edc1591 on Mon Jul 30, 2012 7:14 pm

Yep, everything works fine when I put the processors back.
edc1591
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 10:12 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by edc1591 on Mon Jul 30, 2012 9:25 pm

OK, I tried using the monochron's processor on the Arduino PCB and it doesn't work either (neither pin 15 or any others). So I guess the problem is the processor. Is it possible I was sent a defective one?
edc1591
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 10:12 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by adafruit_support_bill on Tue Jul 31, 2012 4:38 am

Given that the display and other functions work, I don't think it is a bad processor. Looking closer at the design files, I see that the Monochron's processor clock is configured differently than the Arduino's. That explains why a direct swap doesn't work.
User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 25348
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 9:11 am

Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by edc1591 on Tue Jul 31, 2012 7:36 am

So, if the processor is fine and the sensor works on the Arduino, it sounds, to me, like it's a software difference between the Arduino and the monochron that is causing this not to work. Does that sound right? Is that possible?
edc1591
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 10:12 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by adafruit_support_bill on Tue Jul 31, 2012 7:45 am

I suspect it may be the clock difference. The DHT library uses a 'bit-banged' protocol and the timing will be different with the different clock rate.
User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 25348
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 9:11 am

Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by edc1591 on Tue Jul 31, 2012 7:46 am

Would it be possible to modify the DHT library to work with the monochron? Could you possibly point me in the right direction?
edc1591
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 10:12 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by adafruit_support_bill on Tue Jul 31, 2012 9:05 am

Looking at the code, all the timing is done with millis(), delay() and delaymicrosecond(). These should work as long as the correct clock frequency is specified in the boards.txt file for the Monochron.

The other thing to check is the pin mappings in pins_arduino.c. Make sure that pin 24 is mapped the same as the Arduino.
User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 25348
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 9:11 am

Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by edc1591 on Tue Jul 31, 2012 5:58 pm

So, I don't need to modify the DHT library?

I've attached the monochron directory of my hardware folder. Could you take a quick look to see if I made the correct modifications?
monochron.zip
(215.63 KiB) Downloaded 71 times


Thanks
edc1591
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 10:12 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by adafruit_support_bill on Wed Aug 01, 2012 7:31 am

So, I don't need to modify the DHT library?

That is what it looks like. But it is possible there may be other, less obvious timing dependencies in there.

Could you take a quick look to see if I made the correct modifications?

Unfortunately, we can't realistically get involved with debugging modifications to unsupported code. You might try contacting the people that developed the Arduino port of the Monochron.
User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 25348
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 9:11 am

Re: Monochron Temperature Sensor

by edc1591 on Wed Aug 01, 2012 6:00 pm

It looks like the DHT library was the problem. I'm using this library now (http://arduino.cc/playground/Main/DHTLib) and it works!

Thanks so much for all your patience with this :D
edc1591
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 10:12 am
Location: New York, NY