Menu Button Not Working on Ice Tube Clock Kit

For RTC breakouts, etc., use the Other Products from Adafruit forum

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
jbaudio1950

Menu Button Not Working on Ice Tube Clock Kit

Post by jbaudio1950 »

I am new to message forums and posting messages, so please forgive me if I am not doing this correctly.

I just completed the Ice Tube Clock kit. All progress tests passed, but when I power up the clock it displays the time flashing on and off every 2 seconds. Pressing the MENU button has not effect at all. Pressing the SET button displays a day of the week and a date (both incorrect). Pressing the + button also has no effect.

I have triple checked my solder joints and all appear fine. I would appreciate any suggestions.

Thank you,

JB Audio

adafruit_support_bill

Re: Menu Button Not Working on Ice Tube Clock Kit

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

If you post clear photos of the front & back of the board we'll take a look too.

jbaudio1950

Post by jbaudio1950 »

Attached are pictures of the front and back of my completed board.

Thank you for offering to take a look. I'm stumped!

JB Audio
Attachments
IMG_0065.JPG
IMG_0065.JPG (752.32 KiB) Viewed 2986 times

jbaudio1950

Post by jbaudio1950 »

Trying again.
Attachments
IMG_0060.JPG
IMG_0060.JPG (672.49 KiB) Viewed 2984 times

adafruit_support_rick

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

The assembly looks OK. Must be a soldering problem. I've pointed out a few suspicious-looking solders below, along with what looks like a stray chunk of metallic crud.
icetube.png
icetube.png (1.43 MiB) Viewed 2981 times

jbaudio1950

Post by jbaudio1950 »