Monochron kit LCD not working

For RTC breakouts, etc., use the Other Products from Adafruit forum

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
dzjay

Monochron kit LCD not working

Post by dzjay »

Hello,

I just got around to building my Monochron kit I got 2 years ago.

I am a computer programmer, and rather smart in many things, but I am an absolute n00b at electronics.

I followed all directions, and every test succeeded, until I hooked up the LCD. The LCD screen shows nothing. It receives power, for I can see a dim blue glow on the edges, but the screen is dark. I turn the trim knob as indictated, but it makes no difference.

A few things to note:

When cutting the "male header," I accidentally cut into the edged of the female header plastic casing, causing the last pin to become loose. I managed to sit it in place while I soldered the female header to the PCB, and everything seems correct, except that last pin appears "expose").

Can you help me troubleshoot the PCB work or the LCD part in order to solve this problem?

Thank you,
dZ.

adafruit_support_bill

Re: Monochron kit LCD not working

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

Let's start by getting some clear photos of the front & back of the boards. Maybe a close-up of the suspect header pin too. If there is a problem with pin 1, that is the ground pin for everything but the backlight.

dzjay

Post by dzjay »

adafruit_support wrote:Let's start by getting some clear photos of the front & back of the boards. Maybe a close-up of the suspect header pin too. If there is a problem with pin 1, that is the ground pin for everything but the backlight.
Thank you for the response. I have some photos ready for just such request, see attached. By the silkscreen markings on the PCB, I believe it is indeed pin 1 that is exposed.

The soldering work is not really that good, but the PWR, LED, and SPK tests all resulted as expected.
Pin 1 - Close up