Ice Tube Clock boost problems

For RTC breakouts, etc., use the Other Products from Adafruit forum

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
drjeseuss

Ice Tube Clock boost problems

Post by drjeseuss »

I built the Ice Tube Clock from scratch, etching my own board from the design files, and flashing a new/blank atmega168v with the iv.hex file. My boost voltage is only reading 12v. I've checked all connections and parts. The supply voltage is 8.89v in and 5.00v out. The board beeps on powerup. I've used PICs many times before, but this is my first project with an AVR. When I flashed the chip, I used avrdude with -U flash:w:iv.hex to write. Was I also supposed to do -U eeprom:w:iveep.hex? Was I supposed to change any fuse bits? If so, what should they be set to? I'm used to PIC where all this is done from a single .hex file (which may still be the case here). I'm worried that the low voltage may be due to the chip running at a slower speed than expected, causing the boost circuit to run slow and low... maybe this is not the issue. Suggestions?

jarchie

Re: Ice Tube Clock boost problems

Post by jarchie »

Adafruit support won't answer this question because this isn't an Adafruit kit.
My boost voltage is only reading 12v.
With the tube inserted, I believe this voltage is in the normal range. With the tube removed, I would suspect your microcontroller clock is running too slow.
Was I also supposed to do -U eeprom:w:iveep.hex?
I believe so.
Was I supposed to change any fuse bits?
Yes. See the Makefile on GitHub, but I believe the fuse settings should be

Code: Select all

avrdude [...] -u -U lfuse:w:0xE2:m -u -U hfuse:w:0xC6:m -u -U efuse:w:0x01:m
If you have an ATMEGA328P-PU lying around, the installation instructions are a bit clearer for my unofficial firmware.

Good luck!

drjeseuss

Post by drjeseuss »