Ice Tube GPS Mod

For RTC breakouts, etc., use the Other Products from Adafruit forum

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
GWDodd

Ice Tube GPS Mod

Post by GWDodd »

Hello, Good Day and thanks, kind reader, for entertaining this post!
I have been enjoying this brilliant Ice Tube Clock for a couple of years and have decided to attempt the GPS Mod. Please bear in mind that 5 days ago I had never HEARD of AVR and Arduino so this is a stretch for me. I've ordered the USBtinyISP programmer and a GPS module from Adafruit but what I would like to do is program the microprocessor on a target board instead of "in-clock" (I would rather avoid smoke-checking or otherwise destroying the clock.). I've also decided to order some extra ATMega168 chips (bad things usually happen when I try stuff like this). My other option is to build another Ice Tube Clock kit to be built specifically for the GPS mod (keeping my first clock safely working by my bedside).
So my question is, other than the target board, chip, IP header and programmer, do you think any other components would be required to be connected to the target board for a successful program (for example clock source and/or GPS antenna)?
My apologies (in advance) if this seems silly. Why not try reprogramming using the IP header installed on the clock? Again, I use my clock daily and I'd rather not be without it. I'm completely unsure of the programming procedure (but I'm willing to try). So if I can experiment with this on a target board instead of my nice Ice Tube Clock, that would be optimal.
I look forward to anyone's reply and thanks so much for reading, your consideration and time spent!

wbp

Re: Ice Tube GPS Mod

Post by wbp »

GW, where are you located? I can program a new chip and send it to you for about what it costs me. I use a 328p now because the firmware I use (mine) no longer fits in a 168 with all the features...