solder choices

Hand tools, soldering irons, scopes, multimeters. Talk about em HERE!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
spacewalker0720

solder choices

Post by spacewalker0720 »

Hi. I'm new to actually doing electronics after thinking up ideas for years. So on to soldering now. Which solder to buy?

I read in http://www.adafruit.com/datasheets/hakkotips.pdf that "no-clean" fluxes can lead to dewetting issues, and the whole idea of inhaling leaded solder (like in the good ol' days some would say) makes me hesitant.

So between the typical 60/40 ( http://www.adafruit.com/products/145 ) and lead-free (but with "no-clean" rosin core) ( http://www.adafruit.com/products/734 ) I'm not sure which to purchase for home electronics just starting out.

Initial projects include fixing the firmware in my bricked Linksys WRT54G (which requires desoldering some filled holes and installing pin headers) and a kit or two besides that.

Suggestions welcome (and maybe a plan on how to build a little exhaust fan to pull the vapors from the soldering area. Hmmm, maybe a little fan and some dryer vent hose...)

Franklin97355

Re: solder choices

Post by Franklin97355 »

I'm not sure which to purchase for home electronics just starting out.
I'd go with the tin/lead solder if you are in a country where it can be used. It's easier to use and wets better for a beginner.

spacewalker0720

Yeah, after reading about solder at Hakko's site I agree. And I found out Lead doesn't give off fumes at soldering temps, but the flux is something you should suck out of the area.

john444

Post by john444 »

Hi SpaceWalker,

The easiest solder to use would be 63/37 with a multi-core rosin flux.

The 63/37 means it is 63% tin and 37% lead.
This ratio of tin to lead 'freezes' at the lowest temperature of any of the tin/lead mixtures.
The "multi-core" means that the solder has multiple, tiny tubes filled with flux.