Hakko 888 or 888D?

Hand tools, soldering irons, scopes, multimeters. Talk about em HERE!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
wespor

Hakko 888 or 888D?

Post by wespor »

What is your preference and why? I'm new to soldering but it seems to me like an analog dial would be a lot more convenient than a digit toggling button. I suppose it would be nice to see the current temperature, though. I'm torn.

modeller

Re: Hakko 888 or 888D?

Post by modeller »

wespor wrote:What is your preference and why? I'm new to soldering but it seems to me like an analog dial would be a lot more convenient than a digit toggling button. I suppose it would be nice to see the current temperature, though. I'm torn.
I agree with you. I actually bought the 888 before they were all gone (they're being discontinued) because I wanted the dial. I'm all for techy toys and tools, but sometimes it's just a little too much. for a hobbyist anyway. All I want to do is grab a dial and turn it.

As for the accuracy of the dial - I got a Hakko tip calibrator on Ebay for cheap, just to see how it worked. When I tested my 888 with it, it was exactly right - not even 1 deg. off! :shock:

analoger

Post by analoger »

How frequent are you going to change the temperature during a soldering session? If it's not like every 5 minutes or so...go digital!

adafruit_support_bill

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

Or there is the Weller WESD51 - Dial adjustment AND a digital display :D

wespor

Post by wespor »

Was looking at the WESD51 but I'd have to buy it from another location and it runs around 50 bucks higher. I read so many Weller vs Hakko articles last night that my eyes began to bleed, seems like most people adored the new Hakko series and felt Weller had slipped in with a bad Chinese manufacture.

modeller

Post by modeller »