SSD1306 (1.3" 128x64 OLED) Wiring

EL Wire/Tape/Panels, LEDs, pixels and strips, LCDs and TFTs, etc products from Adafruit

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
ChanneledDan

SSD1306 (1.3" 128x64 OLED) Wiring

Post by ChanneledDan »

Hi all,

I must admit that I'm completely new to hardware hacking... My ultimate goal is to be able to output text (and simple graphics) to the 1.3" 128x64 OLED screen, product ID 938.

If anyone can point me in the right direction, I can try to do my own research. If someone could at least explain what the pins are in this picture: http://www.adafruit.com/images/large/ID938beef_LRG.jpg
and how I might go about wiring it up to a Raspberry Pi, that would be great.

I assume the one in the picture is hooked up to an Arduino, would it also be possible to use a RPI?

So far I've only figured out that it's connected using SPI, so:
Data - data in
Clk - clock required for SPI
RST - ???
Vin - power input (3.3v?)
Gnd - ground

Mind filling in the blanks/correcting me?

Thanks so much for the help!

adafruit_support_bill

Re: SSD1306 (1.3" 128x64 OLED) Wiring

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

RST is the reset pin. It should be possible to drive this with a Raspberry Pi, but if you are just getting started, the Arduino is an easier path. We have tutorials and supported Arduino libraries for this device.

ChanneledDan

Post by ChanneledDan »

Yes, I've noticed that it would probably be easier going with Arduino, and I am still considering going that route.

The thing I like about the Raspberry Pi is that its a whole Linux machine which I'm very comfortable with and I can have it do powerful things like run a server on it and output text and maybe a graph directly to the small screen.

If I can't figure this out perhaps I'll go with Raspberry Pi and the simpler 16x2 screens which I'm confident I would be able to successfully hook up and use, since they're so widely used.