16x2 LCD Big Font

EL Wire/Tape/Panels, LEDs, pixels and strips, LCDs and TFTs, etc products from Adafruit

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
r4z0r7o3

16x2 LCD Big Font

Post by r4z0r7o3 »

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to micro's but am having a lot of fun and success (in between measured amounts of letting purple smoke escape free :lol: Part of a larger project I'm working on needs a basic screen & simple UI so I got this LCD + Shield kit (which includes this Standard HD44780 LCD board).

The shield and buttons are all working great, and I was so inspired I spent a few days hacking together this 2-line large-character font, and scrolling/positioning functions.

This is working really well (functionally) but I'm not sure if I'm hitting a code-optimization problem or a LCD display limitation. As the block-letters scroll across the screen, there's a redish-blue flash or trail that follows in the opposite direction.

I looks like some kind of "trail" artifact from blanking the pixels, but it's quite possible my code is simply not fast enough. I tried playing with the contrast-pot, and this helps a little bit. However, basically these artifacts severely limit the rate at wich I can scroll characters on the screen. Anything faster than moving one column per 500ms renders the text unreadable.

I managed to catch this artifact with my phone...
Last character on the right is an 'H" rendering with visble redish-blue trail showing.  The trail appears to move left-to-right - the direction that I draw characters in.
Last character on the right is an 'H" rendering with visble redish-blue trail showing. The trail appears to move left-to-right - the direction that I draw characters in.
LCD.jpg (209.75 KiB) Viewed 1727 times
Last edited by r4z0r7o3 on Mon Nov 19, 2012 10:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

r4z0r7o3

Re: 16x2 LCD Big Font

Post by r4z0r7o3 »