A Programmable LED string GUI

by bonnette_l on Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:51 pm

I have been fooling around with the LPD8806 and WS2801 Programmable LED strings and like them alot.

I use a "Teensy" as the engine to drive the strips. I began to play with (in my mind) a GUI to program different "Routines" onto the strips.

I looked around on the web and didn't find anything so I thought I would take a stab at it.

I finished it a few days ago and am pretty pleased with it.

So... Introducing: LedWizard
This is a Microsoft Windows application
and can be downloaded from "DropBox"

https://www.dropbox.com/s/mb9soukgot0ilmu/LedWizard.zip

Please comment. I'm open to suggestions (good or Bad).

Thanks
Larry
Last edited by bonnette_l on Tue Jan 22, 2013 5:43 pm, edited 2 times in total.
bonnette_l
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:01 pm

Re: A Programmable LED string GUI

by funkytaco on Tue Jan 22, 2013 5:34 pm

You might want to mention OS requirements. I downloaded it and it looks like a Windows executable
funkytaco
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 2:42 pm

Re: A Programmable LED string GUI

by bonnette_l on Tue Jan 22, 2013 5:40 pm

Yes you are correct.....

Windows Only
bonnette_l
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:01 pm

Re: A Programmable LED string GUI

by MarkEMarkEMark on Wed Jan 23, 2013 3:58 pm

An interesting idea. I don't have a Teensy. Will it work with an Uno or Mega (or Due?).

If you look at my Xmas tree lights (https://github.com/MarkEMarkEMark/LEDStripMEO/), you find plenty of more complex programs that you could try. They are a few levels abstracted from the driver, but they would easily convert to call the driver directly, like your samples.
MarkEMarkEMark
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 8:33 am

Re: A Programmable LED string GUI

by bonnette_l on Wed Jan 23, 2013 6:50 pm

I think it will work with an Uno as well. Try it and let me know.
You may have to make some adjustments to a batch file in the ledwiz directory.
prgbuild.bat has a section right at the beginning that gives you the ability to change the CPU.
But I would just try it first. Let me know if it works.

I'll take a look at your stuff this weekend. Thanks for offering.

Larry
bonnette_l
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:01 pm