12mm Diffused Thin Digital RGB LED Pixels + Arduino UNO - Not working - Need Help!

EL Wire/Tape/Panels, LEDs, pixels and strips, LCDs and TFTs, etc products from Adafruit

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
mightymattp

12mm Diffused Thin Digital RGB LED Pixels + Arduino UNO - Not working - Need Help!

Post by mightymattp »

Hi,

I'm new to RGB LED's and Andruino. I just received an Arduino UNO and the 12mm Diffused Thin Digital RGB LED Pixels + 5V 2A (2000mA) switching power supply, the Female DC Power adapter - 2.1mm jack to screw terminal, the 4-pin JST SM Plug + Receptacle Cable Set, and a 4 x AA Battery Holder with On/Off Switch.

I followed the tutorial and connected everything (via 5V wall wart, not battery) - one LED (closest to the power) lights up when powered. When I connect to Arduino, the first three LEDs light up. When I run the strandtest on my Macbook pro w/ latest Arduino software, I get the error message "Problem uploading to Board."

Binary sketch size: 3,330 bytes (of a 32,256 byte maximum)
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding

What am I doing wrong?

adafruit_support_mike

Re: 12mm Diffused Thin Digital RGB LED Pixels + Arduino UNO - Not working - Need Help!

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

If you open the 'Tools' menu and go down to the 'Serial Port' popup menu, do you see an item that's checked?

pburgess

Re: 12mm Diffused Thin Digital RGB LED Pixels + Arduino UNO - Not working - Need Help!

Post by pburgess »

Check the 'board' menu as well, make sure this matches 'Arduino Uno'.

It's normal for a few random LEDs to come on when power is first applied; they'll do the right thing once the code is running on the Arduino.

mightymattp

Post by mightymattp »

Arduino Uno is selected for the board.

However the serial port will not list the proper setting for Arduino Uno - which I've read is /dev/tty.usbmodem621

mightymattp

Post by mightymattp »