Help! Student teacher asked to create some sort of robotics/'geek' club. No idea where to start.

This is a special forum devoted to educators using Adafruit and Arduino products for teaching.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Rivka

Help! Student teacher asked to create some sort of robotics/'geek' club. No idea where to start.

Post by Rivka »

Well I'm a student teacher in rural Georgia (US not Europe) and I was asked by the administration at the school I teach at to create some sort of 'geek' club as they have had requests for everythign from a tabletop gaming club to a robotics club, all from the same group of kids, what they called the 'geeks.' I was asked I assume because I'm pretty obviously geeky myself but having an enduring passion for D&D and Star Trek doesn't really equip me for what they have in mind; starting a FIRST robotics team.

So where do I start? The students are interested in whatever I can show them as far as electronics and programing, and while I have a beginners knowledge of Python I'm totally out of my depth. So what do I read, try and buy? Please keep in mind I'm just a poor grad student!

adafruit_support_bill

Re: Help! Student teacher asked to create some sort of robotics/'geek' club. No idea where to start.

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

You don't say what age level you are talking about, but First has a number of programs for different age levels. I coach an FLL team that will likely 'graduate' into an FTC team within a couple of years. I can answer any questions you have about that. And you can find more information about what it takes to start a team at the First site http://www.usfirst.org/

Rivka

Re: Help! Student teacher asked to create some sort of robotics/'geek' club. No idea where to start.

Post by Rivka »