New Beaglebone:Dead

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
orbitphreak

New Beaglebone:Dead

Post by orbitphreak »

I'm new to this. I got my beaglebone in the mail last week - 2012-06-06. It had some issues booting every now and then - both using the usb or 5V adapter. I eventually updated the firmware to the latest to see if it would help. For the next few boots, it was reliable. I was able to run opkg to update packages, ssh to it, and mount through usb. Then it died. The only indicator light that comes on is the power light - this is the case with both USB and 5V adapter. I've tried resetting it, mounting it, running the screen command on my laptop to /dev/tty.usbserial*, and nothing.

The only thing I CAN do is mount the flash drive directly on my laptop to overwrite the image, which i've done a few times to see if maybe the image i was loading was corrupt. Nothing seems to help..

adafruit

Re: New Beaglebone:Dead

Post by adafruit »

we suggest contacting circuitco for an RMA - it sounds like its got something amiss!

t0x0by

Post by t0x0by »

I have just received my beaglebone today as well. I was playing around with cloud9, and the scripts kept giving me errors. After unplugging the USB cable, the board will not even power on any more, no LEDs come on at all. I don't think it's feasible for me to request an RMA since I live in Australia and postage to US is very expensive. Any alternatives? I was really looking forward to playing with this thing. =(

adafruit

Post by adafruit »

t0x0by, try another power supply, etc. we've never seen the problems you're talking about. let us know if that does/doesn't work!

t0x0by

Post by t0x0by »