Occidentalis or Wheezy?

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Forum rules
Talk about Adafruit Raspberry Pi® accessories! Please do not ask for Linux support, this is for Adafruit products only! For Raspberry Pi help please visit: http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/
Syn7

Occidentalis or Wheezy?

Post by Syn7 »

Hi

So I have been using microcontrollers for awhile now and that's going great. Now I want to learn how to use the Pi. I bought the preinstalled SD card with wheezy for the Pi and I like it so far. I have been doing the tutorials and I find that some of the later ones are only for Occidentalis. Should I use Occidentalis instead? Or did I miss something about how I can use wheezy in these tutorials that require Occidentalis.

Like lesson 9. I have all the stuff I need. I'm just new to Python and need a lil guidance here. I understand that Wheezy is more "friendly" and Occidentalis is still being worked out. I don't mind the challenge though. As long as I can find clear instruction.

I have an older 4GB SD card for a camera I no longer use. I want to keep wheezy, so can I use that old SD card? I know about the tutorial and I have no issue with how to do it, I'm just not sure if there is anything different about these SD cards than the old ones? It's a Kingston 4GB from like 5 years ago.

Thanx for any help, much appreciated.

S.

adafruit_support_mike

Re: Occidentalis or Wheezy?

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

Using a second SD card for Occidentalis is a great idea. I have half a dozen cards with various flavors of OS that I can plug into a RasPi depending on my mood (I'm a NesBSD geek at heart, and have fond memories from when plan9 was released).