The Art of Electronics

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
KeyboardKowboy

The Art of Electronics

Post by KeyboardKowboy »

Hi Folks,

I've been browsing around for a good book on electronics, both in theory and in application. I'm a software engineer, and have just started my journey into the world of electrical design and prototyping. With that being said, I've always been a software guy, and have never received any formal training (i.e. classes/teaching) in electronics. I was browsing around Adafruit and found 'The Art of Electronics' book and looked it up on Amazon to take a peek inside. I liked what I was able to read, but have read differing oppinions on who the book is for. I'm a good problem solver and am familiar with having to take abstract ideas and try to apply them to real world applications. Although I do feel i understand the very basics of this stuff, I do feel I need a solid overview of basic electric theory as a precursor.

How do you all feel about this book for a person in my position? Is there another book I should start out with first? Thanks!

adafruit

Re: The Art of Electronics

Post by adafruit »

we think starting out with the arduino tutorials on our site, then the MAKE electronics book would be good to consider - see how that goes. if you get through all that and are motivated for more, the art of electronics book + student manual would be a good next step. we carry all of these - the tutorials are free, but buying a kits and/or book supports us.

thanks,
adafruit

KeyboardKowboy

Post by KeyboardKowboy »

I have already been going through your great tutorials, and have also bought and built the TV B Gone and the Protoshield. I found you guys after I had bought an Arduino and was looking for tutorials... I've been addicted to this site and all things electronic ever since.