Newb Question(s)

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
mark01970

Newb Question(s)

Post by mark01970 »

Hello all. I am new to microcontrollers. I have three main interests with microcontrollers, and I have a couple of questions regarding each area I was hoping to find out more about before my gear arrives and I get started.

1. Robotics - What is best to use for base/structure of robot, like the frame to mount parts/pcb/motors/wheels, etc
Is it better to make your own pcb's or use a proto shield? I am concerned about running out of room on a proto shield.

2. SMD Toaster Oven - What is best temperature sensor for something like this? It looks like I will just need a temperature system and some relays to control the oven elements and thus turn an old toaster oven into an smd oven?

3. Electronic BANNED - I need to know which microcontroller I should look into when I need the smallest sizes possible but I want to have the features of small 3x7 segment LED voltage display, variable voltage output to an external source, touch switch and a battery charging circuit. I am not sure what the smallest mcu's are capable of. I have a couple of uno's on the way and a couple of 2313's on hand already, but the breadbaord dev boards I put together for them are not cooperating, or I do not have the programmer and avrstudio configured properly. :)

So I have big plans but a LOT to learn. I know a fair amount of basic electronics and I have some programming knowledge in a few different languages. I have a headstart I guess, but I know almost nothing about microcontrollers beyond the general concepts of what they are and how they work. So, any thoughts, ideas, advice, etc ? ? Any and All would be appreciated.

adafruit_support_bill

Re: Newb Question(s)

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

A lot of questions!