LED state logging and servo sequence

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
mrglasspoole

LED state logging and servo sequence

Post by mrglasspoole »

Hi,

i'm new to the micro-controller stuff and have now an Arduino Mega 2560, a Arduino Ethernet Shield and an Adafruit MicroSD card breakout.
I have a lot of stuff in my head i want to do :)
Also got some books and bin through some tuts and examples.

One thing i want to do is a logger for our central heating. The heating has an LED for everything. So the idea was to just log if the LED is on or off.
But the LDR way is not really a good way. So i want to connect the Arduino parallel to the LED's. How can i do that? With an transistor?

The next problem i have is, how can i play a sequence i recorded to move servos?
I thought there is something like Brookshire's VSA out there that works with Arduinos.
There are all kinds of examples how to trigger servos, but nothing about how to record a sequence and play it back.
Is there really everybody using servo controllers from Parallax or Pololu and DMX and doing it with the PC?
DMX is dying and the Mega 2560 can controller a lot of servos and other stuff and is good for embedded systems.
So i wonder that there is nothing like VSA out there for Arduino.

I found out how to control the servos via my Xbox controller and also to use putty to log the positions.
But just putting the output of the log into the sketch

Code: Select all

void loop()
{
myservo.write(0);
myservo.write(0);
myservo.write(0);
myservo.write(59);
myservo.write(64);
myservo.write(71);
myservo.write(78);
myservo.write(85);
myservo.write(91);
myservo.write(95);
myservo.write(99);
myservo.write(103);
myservo.write(109);
myservo.write(115);
myservo.write(121);
myservo.write(129);
myservo.write(140);
myservo.write(153);
myservo.write(162);
myservo.write(166);
myservo.write(169);