Converting stereo to mono

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
prayag2010

Converting stereo to mono

Post by prayag2010 »

Hi,

I recently got into electronics and I am working on a project which includes passing audio to a sub woofer through a Passive RC low pass filter (and an op-amp) . So, I need to mix left & right audio signal before passing it to the Passive RC low pass filter. But by doing so, I would fry my audio source. So, is it safe to insert a 500 ohm (or any other value) resistor on L and R signals before mixing them ? Will it still fry my audio source ?

And can you please suggest a good tutorial (or book) on 555 timers since I am a newbie ?

Thanks for any suggestions or advice !!!

Franklin97355

Re: Converting stereo to mono

Post by Franklin97355 »

easternstargeek

Post by easternstargeek »

I work quite a bit with both professional and consumer audio, but you haven't given us quite enough information to help.

You are, however, exactly right to consider this point- just like you never connect two digital outputs together and run them to a single input, never do the same with audio outputs. You must use some kind of mixer.

I have built passive mixers to combine L&R from an unbalanced stereo line-level source into a single unbalanced line-level input. I use it to connect my iPod to a monaural input channel on my mixing board.

The method is similar to what you have described:
1. Connect all grounds together
2. Wire 1K resistors in series with the source's Left and Right "Hot" leads
3. Tie the other ends of both resistors together, and connect them to the Hot side of the output
4. Wire a 10K resistor between the hot and ground of the output.