New Guy Help with ID chip creation

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
vin7102

New Guy Help with ID chip creation

Post by vin7102 »

Hello,

I'm brand new to this technology and never tried anything like this but it seems simple. I have some equipment that uses flow meters to send material usage to a 24v Allen Bradley PLC. Problem I'm having is the flow meters sometimes get switched around and each have different calibration settings. I was thinking of installing small chips into each meter and its only job is to output the calibration setting, Thats all I need it to do.

My meters have 24v source, ground, and I have an available output pin on the m12 cable for sending this info to the PLC. I would imagine it could be binary, string, hex, or whatever else my PLC can read but I'm not sure.

This is my first attempt at getting information about this entire project so any info or advice (hardware I need to buy, programmer, type of chip...) would be greatly appreciated.
I was looking at the Arduino products and they seem pretty simple and straight forward but not sure if its right for this type of application.

Thanks Guys and sorry for the ignorance,
Vince

zener

Re: New Guy Help with ID chip creation

Post by zener »

Well, since you have 1 wire available you might look at Dalles (Maxim) 1-wire devices. Of course your PLC would have to speak 1-wire, or maybe you could get an adapter to convert to RS-232 or something it can speak. You would want an EEProm device such as DS2430,31,32,33 depending on how much memory you need. Good luck!

lyndon

Post by lyndon »

For something like this, I'd forget about the dallas etc. chips and just use the raw Arduino or Teensy or any board that has a programmable micro and serial output. By the time you're done messing with 1Wire chips you would have spent enough time to pay for many Arduinos!