2 steppers and 1 dc motor?

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
brawo

2 steppers and 1 dc motor?

Post by brawo »

hi,

i'm new to this and i've read that the adafruit motor shield can support up to 1 stepper and 2 DC motor.

would it be able to support 2 steppers and 1 DC motor?

brawo

Re: 2 steppers and 1 dc motor?

Post by brawo »

oh another question. and if the adafruit motor shield is unable to support 2 steppers and 1 DC motor

then is there any motor shield out there that could support my intended configuration?

adafruit_support_bill

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

The Adafruit Motor Shield has 4 H-bridges. Each stepper requires 2 and each DC motor requires 1. So if you have 2 steppers, there are no free bridges to control an extra motor.

Your options depend a little on what kind of control you need for the DC motor. If you need only speed control (one direction rotation), you can control the motor with a simple MOSFET and any free digital pin. If you need both direction and speed control for the motor, then you need a full H-bridge controller.

Pololu has a range of motor control modules you could piece together to handle a wide variety of motor combinations.

brawo

Post by brawo »

thanks for the reply!

i have

2 stepper motors with ratings of 5V and 0.57A
1 DC motor with rating of 5.6V and 0.67A

which require both speed and directional control

i'm not exactly sure how to implement the MOSFET board to the circuit i was intending to have. sorry but could you recommend a motor shield / motor controller that could be added on to the arduino uno rev3 whichcould do both speed and directional control?

or say give a link to a picture/schematic on how the circuit might look like?

thanks for the help man. much appreciated

adafruit_support_bill