RPI + LCD + Ruby (GPIO question)

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
voorTech

RPI + LCD + Ruby (GPIO question)

Post by voorTech »

Hello, obvious newbie here,

I've got my rpi working with an 16x2 lcd, using the Adafruit tutorial. It works with the Python code.

I want to achieve the same thing using Ruby. I already tracked down a library that allows me to
access the GPIO from Ruby - but then the questions start.

I also read through the tech docs on the display to get a better idea what commands is it expecting, but I'm pretty sure I'm lacking some very basic knowledge.

If anyone can point me to some documentation / tutorials / basic info, then that'll be much appreciated.

* First I have questions about the GPIO - I (think I) understand the basic concepts, from what I can tell they are basically just ports you turn off/on, but I want to read up on the specifics.
* Second question is about the display and how to send commands using the GPIO. I'm using a 4 bit command set, but it is not clear to me how if it is just a matter of setting the right pin, or if the display is expecting any other inputs.

Thanks,

Rob.

3d-print.com

Re: RPI + LCD + Ruby (GPIO question)

Post by 3d-print.com »

Dear Adafruit team,
My big congratulations to your Adafruit RGB Negative 16x2 LCD+Keypad Kit for Raspberry Pi development. In my eyes it is the best available for our purpose and hence to that I bought one for our current prototype development.
http://www.adafruit.com/products/1110
We have developed a new high end desktop DLP printer and the plan was to integrate your interface in this application. We have serious commercial plans for this development and it will be launched on our recently launched webpage medio 2014. Your interface would be connected with a RasperryPi Rev2 in order to keep sales price low without compromising functionality.