Making a thermometer with a thermal sensor and an OLED Breakout Board - 16-bit Color 0.96"

by cavargas on Wed Jan 23, 2013 7:07 pm

Hi All,

My name is Carlos and I am a senior undergraduate student at ASU. I am trying to build a build a thermometer that uses a thermal sensor with at least (512 thermal scans/sec) and has an OLED Color Display with animation.

I need help trying to find the components needed to develop this project, any help would be greatly appreciate it.

This is what I have so far:

-Development board (Thinking of Going with Arduino because of support, any suggestions as to what type of board to get?)
-OLED Display, has to be under 1", I am looking at the OLED Breakout Board - 16-bit Color 0.96" - ID: 684
- Thermal sensor, I have not found anything at Adafruit that I could use. Any info regarding with thermal sensors I could use would be greatly appreciate it.
- Has to work with a small battery, Preferably small.

Any information and leads that anyone could provide as to what products I should purchase and how to go about building the thermometer would be just such a blessing.

I would prefer if I could get all the products from Adafruit as I think that they are simply awesome :) haha

Thanks in advance.

Carlos Vargas
cavargas

Re: Making a thermometer with a thermal sensor and an OLED Breakout Board - 16-bit Color 0.96"

by Zener on Wed Jan 23, 2013 7:43 pm

I think the temperature sensor is the easy part! You can use this one:

http://www.adafruit.com/products/165

You can "scan" it as fast as you want.
Zener

Re: Making a thermometer with a thermal sensor and an OLED Breakout Board - 16-bit Color 0.96"

by adafruit_support_bill on Thu Jan 24, 2013 6:00 am

You don't specify any requirements for your "thermal sensor" other than the scan rate. As Zener indicates, you can scan an analog sensor like the TMP36 as fast as you like. But if the sensor reaction time is slow due to the thermal mass, then a fast scan rate is pretty meaningless.