Rolling Broadsides...

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
strategic command

Rolling Broadsides...

Post by strategic command »

Hello everyone,

I am a model builder and painter.I am currently building a cross section model of a Napoleonic Ship of the Line. It will have model soldiers on it which I am building and painting. I will also be building and painting the ship and display area as well.

:arrow: HERE IS WHERE I NEED YOU!!!!

I am looking for find a way to have ten cannons fire a rolling broadside of "smoke" as well as light up with an LED, and once that happens I would like the cannon to also move backwards, and then slowly move back into starting position.

This video is my inspiration for this model. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L2WdU3Zk ... ture=share

I figure I will need some sort of pressurized smoke, and led and some sort of actuator arm to move the cannon, but engineering is so beyond my scope that I am reaching out for help.

Should this be possible it would be great to have all the effects work, but I will settle for just the smoke and led effect.

Thanks in advance for any and all help!

I will buy all the parts needed if you can help me figure out the assembly and whatever else it takes...

adafruit_support_bill

Re: Rolling Broadsides...

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

What scale are we talking about? How big will these cannons be?

strategic command

I will be using Games Workshop models, which are 28-30mm. Or roughly 1/40 - 1/44th scale.

adafruit_support_bill

You might look into using pressurized CO2 for the 'smoke'. You can probably find the valves and other parts to control it from a place specializing in paintball guns. LEDs should not be too much of a problem once you figure out the routing of the CO2 piping and such.

strategic command