Beauty & the Beast Rose for school play

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
tactus72

Beauty & the Beast Rose for school play

Post by tactus72 »

I am a novice maker with some experience soldering kits like the BlinkyPOV, and coding a little javascript. I am also a the father of a son who plays a villager in a middle school production of Beauty & the Beast Jr. I would like to construct a prop for the play, particularly the iconic glowing rose in the bell jar which parallels the beast's life span. I have already been to Michaels, etc., and gotten a couple of synthetic roses to experiment with, a 3-liter clear soda bottle (to make the bell jar with). Now, I just need perhaps some NeoPixels and a GEMMA or something, to make the rose petals appear to glow solidly, then dim to off one by one at separate time intervals to represent the enchantment dying away throughout the show.

I figure I could probably sew the NeoPixels into some of the synthetic petals and mount some into the foam base of the bell jar for more luminescence. Then using some micro controller to pre-program the dimming sequence so some kid theater-tech can sit literally behind the scenes and push a single button for the dimming to occur.

Thank you Adafruit community for any ideas and insight for hardware and coding, that you may offer.

tactus72

Up and running...

Post by tactus72 »

Well, tried to do it myself, and I think it came out pretty good. However, if it is possible to get some guidance in the code portion, I would love to code in a timer for the Neopixels to black out one-by-one based on a schedule. Although I think the Gemma may not sophisticated enough for timed events, and maybe it would have been better to get Flora instead.
Attachments
with room lights off
with room lights off
Photo Feb 12, 8 48 02 PM.jpg (49.59 KiB) Viewed 863 times
with room lights on