Feedback on LED lighting project

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
librarigeek

Feedback on LED lighting project

Post by librarigeek »

Hello all,

First, some background:

I'm just getting into electronics and have begun working on a project to put RGB LED strips under my cabinets as my counters are poorly lit. I've gotten my brain wrapped around the project as I planned it. Specifically:

LED strips controlled by an ATMega328, full (or whatever I define as full-enough) power when a light switch is turned on, and a dimmer setting when triggered by a PIR to use as a nightlight.

Project creep has set in, and at my husband's suggestion, I'm looking at how to easily customize the nightlight colors/color temperature on the fly. I know I can solder on some pins to reprogram the ATMega as needed without removing it from the socket, but I've become a bit more ambitious and would like to create some kind of control panel.

The simpler way is probably to go with a set of 3 potentiometers to set relative brightness of the 3 colors, but why not go fancy?