Need Help how to control 4 dc motors with 2 potentiometers a

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
MEKACI

Need Help how to control 4 dc motors with 2 potentiometers a

Post by MEKACI »

Hi friends,

I am a mechatronic engineering 3rd class student at my university. I have decided to use arduino new for my tank project ;but I am a newbie. I am having trouble " to control 4 dc motors with 2 potentiometers ( 1 potentiometer will be for forward and backward feature; other potentiometer will be for turn right and left feature that I wanted to code that way ) at Adafruit Motor Shield " while coding or I didn't able to figure out what is the problem;because even the compiler doesn't give errors, the thing I want doesn't happen. Thus, I wanted to get the advices and helps from you friends. I am really stuck and it is really frustrating ;and there is noone at my university to ask too. Please help me friends, thanks.

The shield that I am using :

The code I have written at <AFMotor.h> ( V1 Adafruit motor shield library ) ( Firstly, I was trying here to control 1 dc motor with 1 potentiometer at adafruit motor shield for forward and backward feature. My 1 dc motor with 1 potentiometer try didn't work ;so I didn't add the " turn right and left feature " at this code example ;because I was stucked at the first place ) :

Code: Select all

#include <AFMotor.h>

int potentiometerPin = 7;  // analog pin used to connect the potentiometer
int potentiometerValue;    // variable to read the value from the analog pin 

AF_DCMotor left1stMotor(1);  // 1. motor  ( Left back motor )

// AF_DCMotor left2ndMotor(2);  // 2. motor   ( Left front motor )
// AF_DCMotor left3rdMotor(3);  // 3. motor  ( Right back motor )
// AF_DCMotor left4thMotor(4);  // 4. motor  ( Right front motor )

int i;

void setup() 
{