Creating "Runway Lights" effect with a chain of LED clusters

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
docmojoman

Creating "Runway Lights" effect with a chain of LED clusters

Post by docmojoman »

I am trying to create a "runway light" effect along my walkway to my house. I will be creating individual lamps each containing 9 LEDs each. There will be motion sensors at either end of the walkway. Depending on which direction one approaches, the lamps will light up one after the other in the direction of approach - kind of like an airport runway! (See illustration below)

Any suggestions on how to get this done? Can I create this effect with just an arduino? Do I need to use an Adafruit 24-Channel 12-bit PWM LED Driver - SPI Interface?

Also, since I am a virtual noob, could any one point me to some additional useful resources that may help me on this?

eros

Re: Creating "Runway Lights" effect with a chain of LED clus

Post by eros »

BANNED wrote:I am trying to create a "runway light" effect along my walkway to my house. I will be creating individual lamps each containing 9 LEDs each. There will be motion sensors at either end of the walkway. Depending on which direction one approaches, the lamps will light up one after the other in the direction of approach - kind of like an airport runway! (See illustration below)

Any suggestions on how to get this done? Can I create this effect with just an arduino? Do I need to use an Adafruit 24-Channel 12-bit PWM LED Driver - SPI Interface?

Also, since I am a virtual noob, could any one point me to some additional useful resources that may help me on this?
A simple motion sensor solution would solve this, each pair of lights (one right one left) will be hooked to their own individual motion sensor.

docmojoman

Post by docmojoman »

@eros, thanks for the quick reply!