simple project help for a newbie?

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Izmuntil

simple project help for a newbie?

Post by Izmuntil »

so i have never done anything with electronics before, so i am trying to figure out everything i am supposed to do before actually buying anything. i am simply trying to connect a trinket into a digital RGB LED strip. i have asked reddit as well as gone to my local electronics store (who were sort of helpful), but they weren't able to clear up as much stuff as i'd hoped
so far, i would need:

for LED strip
* 5V DC Battery to power the LED strip itself (or more if the regulator takes some of the amps?)
* maybe a LDO regulator so it doesnt eat up some of the amps from the battery (guy at store recommended it)
* a regulator for the above battery (i dont know what kind/type)
* a 6.3V, 1000 µF large capacitor

for trinket
* a 9V battery (im not sure why i'd need a 9V battery)
* a 5V trinket (why not a 3V one?)
* a 300-500 ohm resistor (the guy at the store said what wattage, and there is nothing in the guide about that)

besides that, i would only need to wire the things together, which seems like the simplest task. could someone clear up whatever i am missing/if there is anything else that i'd need?
thanks

adafruit_support_bill

Re: simple project help for a newbie?

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

You can power both the leds and the Trinket from 3xAA batteries (4.5v). The processor and LEDs don't mind being slightly under 5v. You do not need a regulator unless your battery voltage is higher than 5v.

Using a 3.3v Trinket, you can run the whole thing from a 3.7v LiPo cell.

There are many Trinket/Neopixel projects in the Adafrut Learning System.
This one shows you a typical way to wire up and power a Trinket with Neopixels.
https://learn.adafruit.com/larson-scanner-shades

michaelmeissner