Looping image or video project help

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
mhill

Looping image or video project help

Post by mhill »

So I've discovered AdaFruit recently and I'm completely jazzed about the possibilities. I just need to be pointed in the exact direction.
What I want to do is simple but it needs to work without fail and without any effort by the client...beyond turning the unit on.
I am an artist, and I am putting together a sculpture which will feature a small window frame and window, seemingly lit from a fireplace from off-screen.

What I want to use as the display:
NTSC/PAL (Television) TFT Display - 1.5" Diagonal
PRODUCT ID: 910
or
OLED Breakout Board - 16-bit Color 1.27" w/microSD holder

What I want to do:
Preferably, be able to have the silhouette of a BANNED pass across, stand in front of, and pier out the window. In the form of a video I will create, that can loop without audio.
or, Just allow for a lighting effect similar to the attached image, and only have a static lighting effect.
I want to be able to store this file on a micro-SD card or similar, and with the flip of the master power switch for the whole sculpture, the video or image automatically loads. So that the client could manage this no problem.

Some other information:
-This screen will be left on throughout the day, switched on and off, etc, potentially for years, it shouldn't fail. I don't know how reliable this technology is.
-If a slightly bigger screen is more desirable (better options), please suggest. I think I could crop the area of the screen I need to use, and place a frame in front of the unused portion.
-Resolution: Not a big deal, the resolution of the smallest unit is enough.
-If additional hardware is required, I'm ready to get on board with that.
-Price is not a factor.