Flora and Wifi module nRF24L01

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
pattoj79

Flora and Wifi module nRF24L01

Post by pattoj79 »

Hi,
I'm new to Arduino and flora and have a design flaw... Wifi communication.
Project
Boundary breach (escaped dog) and live GPS Tracking for my dog so I can find him once escaped.
The idea is to send an alarm to myself on my phone when my dog escapes and have flashing LEDS on the dog collar when it is outside the yard boundary. To save batteries, the wifi is only turned on when the boundary alarm is operated. I should then have enough time to get home and regather the dog before it is outside the wifi signal range. With an early alert it will make it easier.... hopefully

My question however is how do I connect the wifi module and is it possible to do. Will the connection to the wifi be too slow to establish once the dog escapes? I'm sure the signal would be strong enough but time to connect may be slow.

Any advice would be appreciated.

adafruit_support_mike

Re: Flora and Wifi module nRF24L01

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

Wifi is only reliable to about 150' under good conditions. Are you sure your dog will stay within that range?

pattoj79

Post by pattoj79 »

Thanks for the response but range is probably not the aim of the question. This is just a possible scenario.

The main question however is can the wifi module be connected to the Flora? If so are you able to advise how to connect it. If I can get it to work I will be able too test the connection speed. (for info SDA & SCL will be used for an accelerometer). Any help would be appreciated.

Cheers.

The flora ICSP pins are
SCK - This has a direct connection - It's ok
MISO - This has a direct connection - It's ok
MOSI - This has a direct connection - It's ok