Best Oscilloscope for the $

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
toddfun

Best Oscilloscope for the $

Post by toddfun »

I'm purchasing an Oscilloscope for X-mass and I have a question if you don't mind.

I'm just a garage enthuses in Electronics now-a-days but I did get my BS in Physics Engineering specialized in Electronics 15yrs ago. Today I'm just a simple BANNED DBA.

I believe I would be ok with a 2 ch 100MHz scope. I’m thinking of one of these two.

Techtronic TDS2012B 100MHz 2Ch 1GS/s but that's $1,600
http://www2.tek.com/cmswpt/psdetails.lo ... =psu&lc=EN

INSTEK GDS-1102 100MHz 2Ch 250MS/s at $829
http://www.instek.com/html/en/showprodu ... n=4&p2sn=4

My question is: Would I get enough for my $ if I go with a “non” Tektronix product like the "INSTEK GDS-1102 100MHz 2Ch 250MS/s" for $829?

It seems like the INSTEK has nice specs, other than maybe the 250MS/s. It is a great savings over a Tektronix. I know I would pick the Tek but I really can't get myself to spend 2x as much if my level of usage does not require it. Then again I don't want a $800 INSTEK paper weight if that is what it is either.

Are there any recommendations you could give me on getting or not getting the GDS-1102?

macegr

Re: Best Oscilloscope for the $

Post by macegr »

I bought a Tektronix 465B analog 100MHz scope for $100 years ago and it still serves most of my purposes. I also use a Tek digital scope sometimes, but that's at work. It's not an investment I would make for a hobby, before knowing exactly why I needed it.