Forum rules
Talk about Adafruit Raspberry Pi® accessories! Please do not ask for Linux support, this is for Adafruit products only! For Raspberry Pi help please visit: http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/

Stacking Protoboards?

by Buggington on Wed Feb 13, 2013 6:06 pm

Hi

I'm looking at buying a few of these http://www.adafruit.com/products/801 Protoboards to go on top of my Raspberry Pi. I would prefer to use a breadboard but it seems that there isn't a solution that allows me to neatly stack several breadboards on top of a Pi (I have quite a large project planned).

These protoboards seem to be the right kind of size for that to work, but I was wondering how I could support several of them stood on top of each other? This is on my desk, so space is really at a premium, so the likes of the Dish kit https://www.adafruit.com/products/942 wouldn't work.

Also, if you had any other product that might fit I would be grateful if you could point me in the right direction.

Thanks in advance :)
Buggington
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 6:00 pm

Re: Stacking Protoboards?

by adafruit_support_bill on Thu Feb 14, 2013 7:40 am

The corner location of the GPIO header does not make for a stable stacking configuration. But if all the boards in the stack are protoboards, you can always add some stacking headers to some of the holes on the opposite corner for stability.

As for enclosures. I'm not aware of any that are designed for stacking. But the large waterproof enclosure in the store is plenty roomy and easily cut or drilled for cables etc.: https://www.adafruit.com/products/905
User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 28161
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 9:11 am

Re: Stacking Protoboards?

by Buggington on Fri Feb 15, 2013 3:15 pm

adafruit_support wrote:The corner location of the GPIO header does not make for a stable stacking configuration. But if all the boards in the stack are protoboards, you can always add some stacking headers to some of the holes on the opposite corner for stability.

As for enclosures. I'm not aware of any that are designed for stacking. But the large waterproof enclosure in the store is plenty roomy and easily cut or drilled for cables etc.: https://www.adafruit.com/products/905


Awesome, thanks. Would you have any links to these stacking headers please? I'd like to make sure I get the right ones.

Thanks for your help.
Buggington
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 6:00 pm

Re: Stacking Protoboards?

by adafruit_support_bill on Fri Feb 15, 2013 3:31 pm

We have a few different kinds. You can replace the 2x13 GPIO header on your protoboard with the stacking variety. For the other corner, the smaller Arduino headers will probably work fine.
https://www.adafruit.com/index.php?main ... ing+header
User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 28161
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 9:11 am

Re: Stacking Protoboards?

by Buggington on Fri Feb 15, 2013 3:35 pm

adafruit_support wrote:We have a few different kinds. You can replace the 2x13 GPIO header on your protoboard with the stacking variety. For the other corner, the smaller Arduino headers will probably work fine.
https://www.adafruit.com/index.php?main ... ing+header


Great, thanks - I'll look into that :)
Buggington
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 6:00 pm